Spread the love

The Kogi State House of Assembly on Thursday suspended nine of her members.

Also, five council chairmen and three vice chairmen were suspended on account of anti party activities.

The suspended lawmakers includes; Daniya Rayin of Bassa constituency, Muktar Bajeh, Okehi constituency, Kilani Olumo, Ijumu constituency, Moses Akande, Ogori-Magongo constituency, Lawi Ahmed, Okene 1 constituency, Atule Igbunu, Ibaji constituency, Suleiman Attajachi Musa, Idah constituency, Aderonke Aro, Yagba West constituency and Bello Hassan Abdullahi, Ajaokuta constituency.

The suspended charmen with their vices includes; Ogori-magongo and Bassa, while those chairmen suspended without their vices are, Yagba West, Ibaji and Lokoja council areas.

But the chairman of Lokoja Council area, Muhammed Dan -Asabe was specifically suspended on ground of financial misappropriation.

However, the chairmen for Kabba/Bunu, Adavi and Ajaokuta council areas were however summoned to appear before the House on a later date to defend the allegations from the state APC chairman, Abdullahi Bello.

The suspension of the lawmakers followed a correspondence from Governor Yahaya Bello to the speaker while that of the council chairmen and vice chairmen was based on correspondence from the State APC, chairman, Abdullahi Bello.

Reading both letters at plenary, the Speaker Prince Mathew Kolawole said, “The correspondence from the Governor alleged that the lawmakers were involved in terrorist activities based on security report while the correspondence from the state APC Chairman alleged that the chairmen and some vice chairmen carried out anti-party activities in the just concluded elections”

The Speaker after reading the letters put into motion the suspension of the affected lawmakers, chairmen and vice chairmen and the members through voice vote agreed to the motion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *